Community Schools

The Educational Service Center of Central Ohio currently has a contract with the Ohio Department of Education to be a sponsor of community schools in the state of Ohio. The ESC of Central Ohio was also one of only five sponsors in the state of Ohio to receive an Effective Sponsor rating for the 2015-2016 school year.

Although we are not currently accepting applications regarding the sponsorship of new schools, helpful information has been listed below, as well as contact information, should you have questions about receiving technical assistance and support services from the ESC of Central Ohio. If anything changes related to accepting new applicants, that information will be added to this page.

See Applicant Update for latest information. The application window has closed.

The Community School Department has a mission is to monitor each of its community schools though quality sponsorship for the benefit of the students in each of the sponsored schools. Although sponsoring is a small part of the ESCs portfolio, it is dedicated to best practices for effective school choice options for parents, as supported by the National Association of Charter School Authorizers (NACSA) and has the following goals*:

  • Education: To monitor and assess the goals of the Education Plan of the sponsorship agreement, aligning them with the Assessment and Accountability Plan.
  • Governance: To monitor and assist with governance compliance.
  • Finance: To monitor and provide feedback for fiscal viability and sustainability, providing intervention if needed.
  • Accountability: To monitor and evaluate legal compliance as well as areas of the contract.
  • Technical Assistance: To provide technical assistance in all aspects of successful school programming.

* Intervention provided in any goal area when needed.


ESC Sponsored Community Schools

The Charles School at Ohio Dominican (9-13)

1270 Brentnell Avenue
Columbus, Ohio 43219

Greg Brown and Eileen Meers

Governing Board
Sara Neikirk
Melody Steely
Sue Coady
Nick Gulyassy
Kitty King
Jim Ziminski

Early College Academy

345 E. Fifth Avenue
Columbus, OH 43201
Superintendent: Jonathan Stevens

Governing Board
Pam Allen
Terry Boyd, Ph.D
Eric Brandon
Jock Harris
Marlena Randolph
Janet Ravsneberg
Andrew Schabo, JD
Wendell Scott

Graham Expeditionary Middle School (6-8)

140 E. 16th Avenue
Columbus, Ohio 43201

Greg Brown and Eileen Meers

Governing Board
Lisa Chambers
Angela Stoller-Zervas
Mari Sunami
Sara Neikirk
Kara Pennington

Graham Primary School (K-5)

140 E. 16th Avenue
Columbus, Ohio 43201

Greg Brown and Eileen Meers

Governing Board
Nate Reynolds
Martha Brewer-Motley
Kitty King
Sarah Levels
Joyce Swayne

The Graham School (9-12)

3950 Indianola Avenue
Columbus, Ohio 43214

Greg Brown and Eileen Meers

Governing Board
Steve Gussler
Jill Lugo
Bill Dawson
George Norris
Kim Gulyassy
Mirria Martin

Maritime Academy of Toledo (5-12)

803 Water Street
Toledo, Ohio 43604

Tom Shafer

Aaron Lusk

Governing Board:
Jim Hartung
Robert Lucas
Barb Pinter

Jack Sculfort
Linda Stacy
Bill Davis
Keith Jordan

Oakstone Community School (K-12)

5747 Cleveland, Avenue
Columbus, Ohio 43231

Heather Kronewetter

Governing Board
Dave Huelsman
Jason Warner
Sherry Chapin
Jere Corven
Dave Lambert
Thad Boggs

Star Academy (K-8)

1850 Airport Highway
Toledo, Ohio 43609

Julie Dinkins

Governing Board
Charles Kissling
Dave Bell
Jerry Jones
Richard Dunn